

Castellas (meaning "ruined fortress" in Provençal) was built in 1150 by Pierre Brémond, Lord of Auriol, probably on the site of the ancient Roman villa of Solobie (Solobium in Latin).
It was destroyed in 1593 during the reign of Henry IV, when the castles of Provence were dismantled under the command of the Duc d'Épernon. The ruins today comprise two towers framing the ramparts (97m) and the keep, a vaulted room.
It was destroyed in 1593 during the reign of Henry IV, when the castles of Provence were dismantled under the command of the Duc d'Épernon. The ruins today comprise two towers framing the ramparts (97m) and the keep, a vaulted room.

